Like with any other part of the US, Jefferson County, Colorado has its own set of laws when it comes to traffic violations. If you have been involved in the breaking of traffic rules in this part of Colorado or you need a professional opinion for careless driving defense, then you need to get in touch with the lawyers who specialize in practicing traffic laws in Jefferson County. The traffic ticket attorneys in downtown Denver can assist you with all your queries in relation to traffic penalties and jail time. So if you have had a Jefferson County speeding ticketlately, it is time for you to brush up your knowledge about the traffic regulations in this part of Colorado. Here we represent some common frequently asked questions regarding traffic violations in Jefferson County.
When can my driver’s license get suspended?
You might face a suspension of your driver’s license if you accumulate a large number of traffic points within a given period of time on your record. When you’re convicted of a particular kind of traffic offence, the details about your conviction are handed down by the court taking care of your traffic ticket to the Colorado Department of Revenue. A traffic conviction is said to have occurred if you are found guilty during trial or the final hearing, if you plead guilty, mail in the payment with the ticket, or simply fail to appear in the court, thereby leading to a default judgment.
How much points are required for my driver’s license to get suspended?
The following number of points in your driving record will lead to a suspension of your driver’s license:
Adult driver over the age of 21:
- Twelve points in any twelve consecutive months
- Eighteen points in any twenty-four consecutive months
Minor driver aged between 18 and 21:
- Nine points in any twelve consecutive months
- Twelve points in any twenty-four consecutive months
- Fourteen points or more between 18 and 21 years of ages
Minor driver under age 18:
- Six points in twelve consecutive months
- Seven points before turning 18
What are the penalties involves in driving under suspension?
Driving under suspension is treated as a major offense in Jefferson County, Colorado and can lead to mandatory jail time, monetary fines and the extension of your driver’s license suspension. For a first time offense, you may receive a mandatory jail sentence anywhere between 5 days and 6 months. This mandatory jail sentence cannot be suspended by a judge. You may also need to pay a court fine that can go up to $500, apart from the mandatory fees and additional surcharges.
Apart from the penalties stated above, a conviction can cause
In what situation I may be termed as a habitual traffic offender?
You might be termed as a habitual traffic offender if you’re convicted of 3 major traffic violations within a period of 7 years. The habitual traffic offender revocation period is for 5 years. The various major traffic offenses that might lead to the status of habitual traffic offender include the following:
- DUI – Drugs
- Driving while ability impaired (DWAI)
- Reckless Driving
- Driving Under Revocation
- Driving Under Suspension
- Vehicular Homicide
- Vehicular Assault
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Hit and Run that involves injury or death
- Criminally Negligent Homicide
- Providing DMV with False Information
Can I ask for a jury trial in the traffic court?
If you are charged with some infraction, then you cannot ask for a jury trial. On the other hand, if you are charged with traffic offense, then you might submit a request for a jury trial.
What are the major traffic crimes under Jefferson Country, Colorado laws?
The major forms of traffic offenses here in Jefferson Country include assault, vehicular homicide, habitual traffic offences, DWAI, DUI, driving under influence of drugs, reckless driving, driving while revoked or suspended, and leaving an accident scene. Convictions for major traffic offenses may lead to prison time, jail time, major fines and even revocation of driver’s license. When charged with major traffic offense, you will be sent a summons for appearing in the court. Failure to do so will ultimately lead to an arrest as well as a default judgment.