Driving Under The Influence Of Marijuana In Colorado – What You Need To Know?

A driver is said to be under the influence if he/she finds it substantially difficult to exercise the mental or physical control necessary to operate a vehicle safely.
Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana in Colorado – What You Need to Know?
Source - http://media.komonews.com/images/121107_marijuana_2.jpg

The Amendment 64 passed in 2012 has now made it legal for adults (i.e. people aged 21 years or older) under state law in Colorado to possess 1 ounce of marijuana or cannabis for recreational purposes. The same law also allows an individual to give 1 ounce of marijuana or cannabis as a gift to another adult individual. However, it is illegal to consume marijuana or cannabis in public or take it outside the state. Like with alcohol, driving under the influence of marijuana or cannabis is illegal, and while the state law allows possession for up to 1 ounce,

it is still regarded as an illegal substance under the federal laws.

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

Driving under the influence of marijuana or some other form of drugs is illegal according to the DUI laws of Colorado. The same is applicable for a combination of multiple substances, including marijuana, alcohol or other kinds of drugs. All habitual drug users are prohibited from driving any kind of vehicle in Colorado. Even a registered medical user of marijuana can be apprehended for a DUI case under the marijuana laws of Colorado.

Penalties for DUI

If you have been found guilty of driving under the influence of marijuana, then it is considered as an act of misdemeanor. The judge may suspend your driver’s license as well as carry out the following penalties that may vary depending on whether it is a first or a subsequent conviction.

First conviction:

Violators might face license suspension of up to 9 months; jail time between 5 days and 1 year; monetary fine between $600 and $1000 as well as public service for a period between 48 hours and 96 hours. The court may also impose a probation period that is less than two years.

Second conviction:

Violators might face license suspension for 12 months; jail time between 10 days and 1 year; monetary fine between $600 and $1500 as well as public service for a period between 48 hours and 120 hours. The court may also impose a probation period for at least 2 years.

Third and subsequent convictions:

Violators might face license suspension for 24 months; jail time between 60 days and 1 year; monetary fine between $600 and $1500 as well as public service for a period between 48 hours and 120 hours. The court may also impose a probation period for at least 2 years and require you to mandatorily participate in an alcohol and drug-driving safety education program.

Third or subsequent convictions within 7 years:

Apart from the penalties described above, anyone who commits more than three violations within a period of 7 years of 2 or more than 2 prior offenses may go through a mandatory 5 year license revocation under habitual traffic offender


statute laws of Colorado. 

Penalties for DUI (Minors)

Minors or individuals under the age of 21 years can face license suspension for 3 months for first offense, 6 months for second offense and a year or 3rd and subsequent offenses. For first offenses, minors may need to pay fines for $100 and do public service for up to 24 hours. Minors who are younger than 18 years and who have been once or more convicted of DUI related charges will need to attend the juvenile court for addressing their subsequent violations.

Impaired Driving

DUI offense occurs when a driver finds it substantially difficult to exercise the right amount of mental or physical control that is needed to drive a vehicle safely. However, a driver may still break the law if his or her driving skills were affected even to the slightest degree by the influence of the drugs. A driver may be accused of impaired driving when his mental and physical abilities to navigate a vehicle are influenced by the chemicals present within the drugs.

First conviction:

Although violators won’t face license suspension, they will still be subjected to jail time between 2 and 180 days and will need to pay monetary fine of $200-$500. They will also be required to commit to public service for 24-48 hours.

Second and subsequent convictions:

The violators will be required to face same penalties that are listed for 2nd, 3rd and subsequent convictions that are listed above for the DUI convictions.

Why you need the services of a professional drug defense lawyer in Colorado

If you have been charged with a case of driving under the influence of drugs in Colorado, then you need the services of a legal practitioner who is well versed with the drug laws in Colorado. Only a Denver drug defense lawyer is well equipped to handle the various aspects of a DUI case. Each and every DUI case is different, and so the parameters of your case might be different from someone else’s. As a layman, you might not be well aware of the various laws associated with DUI cases, and unknowingly complicate things for yourself. For this reason, you need the assistance of a legal expert who knows the DUI laws of the State of Colorado and can guide you in every step of the way and make sure that your case is handled smoothly.



Article Written By pisanilaw

Professionally, I am a Denver criminal defense attorney, specialized in DUI defense, Colorado traffic tickets defense, juvenile crime defense, defense against domestic violence charges and sealing of criminal records. I am also a passionate blogger and love to pen down information, insights and views about the legal arena, so that along with my services my words could also benefit people.

Posted on: Last updated: 29-07-2016 153 0

Please login to comment on this post.
There are no comments yet.
Frequently Asked Questions On Traffic Ticket Law In Jefferson County
How Can I Get A Domestic Violence Protection Order?